Red Thai Curry in a Hurry

It is no secret that I aspire to be Nigella Lawson’s protegee, I have visions of her and I pottering about in a kitchen dancing about with large chunks of butter and jugs of cream and chatting over how we roll out our pastry. I absolutely love her passion and her attitude to food. She loves cooking, she loves feeding people and she loves making the best with the best ingredients. What a brilliant philosophy to live your life by.

Not to mention she’s hysterical when she’s cracking poultry bones, there was an unforgettable moment in her latest series on BBC2 when she almost cackled while snapping the spine of a quail!

Aside from being actually infatuated with her, I also read her cookery books avidly and they are definitely my favourite and most used books in the kitchen. It was while searching for her that I discovered my new idol, Lorraine at NotQuiteNigella, and I’m so glad I did.

Last night, I turned to Nigella’s Express for supper, we decided to have her Red Thai Curry with Prawns and Mango, except it turned into Red Thai Curry with Pineapple and Chicken. So I have included Nigella’s recipe and I have amended it as such. For the original, it’s on pg. 15 of the Express book. Don’t be mislead by how sweet it sounds like it’s going to be. The combination of the flavours is amazing and so tasty. Even Ant couldn’t finish his because he ate so much!

I probably over added chicken stock so we had to boil it down quite furiously but I remembered from a previous escapade into curry to add ground almonds so I did so and this definitely helped thicken it. I also forgot to add the lime during the recipe so we had it sprinkled over the top. Ant cooked his perfect sticky rice and we had it heaped on that.

Red Chicken and Pineapple Curry

serves 2

  • 1 x 15 ml of oil (Nigella uses wok, I use sunflower and add chopped garlic and ginger later)
  • 1 finely sliced spring onion
  • 3 tablespoons of red Thai curry paste (Nigella uses 1 and a half but I do like a kick to it)
  • 200ml of coconut milk
  • 250ml of chicken stock
  • 2 teaspoons of fish sauce (I forgot this so used soy for saltiness)
  • A sweet potato cubed
  • 250g of fresh chicken breast (we cube but I would dearly love to remember to slice)
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 150g pineapple chunks
  • handful of chopped coriander
  1. Heat the oil in a large, heavy based frying pan and fry the sliced spring onion for one minute and add the curry paste.
  2. Whisk in the coconut milk, stock and the fish sauce/soy sauce and bring to boil.
  3. Tip in the sweet potato and simmer, partially covered for 5 minutes, add the chicken and simmer for a further 5 minutes.
  4. Let the sauce come back to the boil to thicken, this is the moment at which we added 100g of ground almonds, add the pineapple chunks and the lime juice and cook for another minute.
  5. Sprinkle the coriander as you serve.
Leave a Reply

