Making Macaroons..

With a rare week day off work, I arranged to go to my friend, Hannah’s, for tea and cake. Except where Hannah’s concerned the cake is always freshly made and always delicious! We arranged to do some baking as I love it but I get quite irritable baking on my own.

I’d left Hannah with the task of finding us a recipe to bake from, but I’d mentioned the night before that I’d always wanted to make macaroons and like the hero she is, she’d gone out and bought the ingredients to make pink macaroons with a dark chocolate filling.

Now, I’ve mentioned above that I get irritable baking, it’s not that I don’t love it but I’m not skilled with precision and this is where Hannah excels so we make an excellent pair let loose. Except I managed to coat myself in red food colouring dyeing my hand and my shirt! I am not suitable to be taken anywhere smart! Hannah is very wise and sensible though so she took the matter in hand.

I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out and whether they’d look in any way like they do when you see them in patisseries or if they would actually taste right. We couldn’t leave the oven door open as it suggests in the recipe, and we think that’s why they are a little brown around the edges and we thought that we’d add more colouring next time. Well, Hannah would so as to avert a natural food colouring disaster. I was surprised by the inclusion of creme fraiche in the recipe and we agreed that next time, we might add a little flavouring such as orange or ginger… which would be delicious with the dark chocolate insides!

We ate them sat at the kitchen table, still warm from the oven watching ‘Gentleman Prefer Blondes’ and discussing whether Jane Russell looks more like a man or a horse and playing who would be out of Marilyn and Jane and Marilyn and Audrey. I got Marilyn both times due to being, apparently, less sensible! Completely unfair, and spookishly accurate.

Pink macaroons with Dark Chocolate

  • 125g of ground almonds
  • 125g of icing sugar
  • 1 large egg white
  • 50ml creme fraiche
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • Pink food colouring
  • 75g of dark chocolate
  • cocoa powder for dusting
  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C (fan) or 220 degrees (non fan). Place the ground almonds, icing sugar and egg white in a food processor and blend for 1 – 2 minutes.
  2. Add the creme fraiche a teaspoon at a time, followed by the vanilla and the food colouring.
  3. Line a baking sheet with baking paper. Dab 3/4 of a teaspoon of mix on to the sheet in a dome at 2cm intervals. Leave to stand for 15-2o minutes.
  4. Bake the macaroons for 8 – 11 minutes, leaving the door of the oven ajar propped open with a wooden spoon. Turn the macaroons half way through cooking to ensure they are cooked evenly. Leave to cool.
  5. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over a simmering pan of water. Spread 1/2 a teaspoon over one macaroon and sandwich two together. Set aside until the chocolate has set (we omitted the setting part in desperation!) and dust with cocoa powder.
  6. The macaroons can be kept in an airtight container for up to 4 days.

The finished product:

The other little cakes are Hannah’s amazing Gin and Tonic cupcakes, I shall post the recipe for these soon because they are AMAZING!

3 thoughts on “Making Macaroons..

Leave a Reply

