Dydd Gwyl Dewi hapus!

So today is St. David’s Day, that means Happy St. David’s Day in Welsh.. My mother speaks welsh and took O-Level Welsh and my father eats a daffodil on this day every year. I texted him this morning to see if he had eaten his customary March 1st snack and he hadn’t. He texted later in the day though to let me know that he had. Phew! For those tempted, don’t copy him. It’s not big or clever and they’re actually poisonous but it still strikes me as the coolest thing!

In my 26 years, I have learned a few words in welsh that make me a conversational expert. Namely ‘fish and chips’, ‘five’, ‘sausage’, ‘people of the valley’, ‘cheers’ and my most uttered ‘all englishmen are arseholes’. I learned the latter from the mouth of my father at rugby matches throughout my life! He has always supported Welsh rugby, even through the darker days, and so as a child, I learned to shout that before I even knew what it meant!

With this day of Welshness, I have included a recipe for Welshcakes. Everything appears to be so tea-related lately. I must rewrite the balance with some savoury goodness but for today, see below!

Welsh cakes

Makes 4-6 cakes

  • 225g/8oz self-raising flour, sieved
  • 110g/4oz (preferably Welsh) salted butter
  • 1 egg
  • handful of sultanas
  • milk, if needed
  • 85g/3oz caster sugar
  • extra butter, for greasing
  1. Rub the fat into the sieved flour to make breadcrumbs. Add the sugar, dried fruit and then the egg. Mix to combine, then form a ball of dough, using a splash of milk if needed.
  2. Roll out the pastry until it is a 5mm/¼in thick and cut into rounds with a 7.5-10cm/3-4in fluted cutter.
  3. You now need a bakestone or a heavy iron griddle. Rub it with butter and wipe the excess away. Put it on to a direct heat and wait until it heats up, place the Welsh cakes on the griddle, turning once. They need about 2-3 minutes each side. Each side needs to be caramel brown before turning although some people I know like them almost burnt.
  4. Remove from the pan and dust with caster sugar while still warm. Some people leave out the dried fruit, and split them when cool and sandwich them together with jam.
Leave a Reply

