Forever Young

You know you’re still young when your father tells you off for using a rude word on your blog. I apologise to anyone who was offended and I’m desperately trying to find it to delete it but I’m struggling so I promise I’ll take it off when I do. It’s not a horridly rude word, a mildly offensive one, I suppose!

Anyway, what also makes me feel like a child is cupcakes and so I have been dedicating vast amounts of time to them at the moment. There’s something about the brightly coloured, whirly frosting sticking up to a peak and brightly coloured icing or glitter that makes me feel like I’m a child again. I enjoyed being a child greatly, I was rather disappointed with the onset of adulthood and, although more serious as a child than I’ve ever been since, I have reverted to liking toadstools, candy canes, rabbits and snowballs. I like anything garish which is something I admire in children. Whilst I like garish, I couldn’t for instance decorate a cake with pink icing and red and orange hearts. Children can and I wish I could.

what I looked like as a child,  apparently….. hmm…

I was asked to cook muffins this morning and I did so with real malaise. I did not want to cook muffins, the lumpy, ungainly older brother of the cupcake. They’re not like the brownie which is the cool older brother with a car, but the one who isn’t much older and still has spots. So under much duress, I cooked chocolate and cheese and red onion muffins and they were delicious but enforced muffins aren’t quite the same as when you cook something lovingly through a desire to create nice food.

However, as rebellion this afternoon I went cupcake mad! I went bonkers for cupcakes! I baked 2 batches! Oh yes! I baked peaches and cream and my own slightly adapted raspberry cheesecake cupcakes! The basics of these is the same so I’ve popped the recipe down for one and then adapted it below for the other.

Peaches & Cream Cupcakes

makes 12

  • 120 g Plain Flour
  • 140 g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/5 tsp Salt
  • 40 g Butter (unsalted)
  • 120 ml Whole Milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 400 g Sliced Peaches
  1. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  2. Beat flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter together at slow speed until sandy consistency. Add half the milk and beat until just combined.
  3. Whisk egg, vanilla and remaining milk together, then add to rest of ingredients, beating until just combined.
  4. Layer the sliced peaches in the cases and divide the mixture between the cases in the tin.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes until light golden and cooked through.

Spread with vanilla frost- recipe here! (Vanilla Frosting Recipe)

Now these were delicious and moreish but what I really loved was the Raspberry Cheesecake version.

This was almost exactly the same, except, I added frozen raspberries (from the farm) to the bottom of the cases and when cooled, I spread with a Cream cheese icing, made as below and then sprinkled with crushed digestives.

Makes enough to frost 12 cupcakes.

300g icing sugar, sifted
50g unsalted butter, at room temperature
125g cream cheese, cold

Beat the icing sugar and butter together in a freestanding electric mixer with a paddle attachment (or use a handheld electric whisk) on medium-slow speed until the mixture comes together and is well mixed. Add the cream cheese in one go and beat until it is completely incorporated. Turn the mixer up to medium-high speed. Continue beating until the frosting is light and fluffy- for at least 5 minutes. Do not overbeat, as it can quickly become runny.

Something about the tartness and the sweetness and the cream cheese. It’s such heaven.

And again, sorry Dad. x

Leave a Reply

