Skinflint Stir Fry

Continuing with the theme of frugality and being as poor as a church mouse, I have been following the same mentality of using things in the cupboards of freezer with the bonus of some fresh vegetables thrown in.

Last night, I had the kind of craving for noodles that only eating them in large quantities will cure!

I was taken to Tesco by the lady who lives upstairs and her part time room-mate, Luigi. The lady who lives upstairs has not lived upstairs for a long time and so I haven’t mentioned her much. She is, however, a dear friend but also a time thief. I don’t mind that whenever I do something with her I seem to lose 10 hours and wind up feeling like I’ve crossed the International Date Line because nearly everything we do ends with us drinking wine, which is nice because I like wine and because she makes me laugh a lot.

Anyway she moved home this weekend, having been off in a far flung location for far too long, and has a broken wrist from Silent Disco Dancing so I have been brought back into supermarket duties. It’s something that I excel at, I read labels and I spot bargain items!

Last night, I even managed to spot a 5 pence bag of Jersey Royals:

Anyway, on my trip to the supermarket with the lady who lives upstairs and Luigi, I bought some baby sweetcorn, sugar snap peas and tenderstem broccoli to form the basis of the stir fry I wanted so badly. The attraction also lay in the speed of a stir fry and I knew I had some king prawns which would be nice.

And so the following came to be:

King Prawn Stir Fry with Coconut, Coriander and Chilli

  • handful of king prawns
  • dried rice noodles (2 strips of)
  • stir fryable vegetables such as mange tout, baby sweetcorn, courgette etc.
  • a crushed garlic clove
  • a spring onion
  • coconut milk
  • coriander
  • chilli
  • an oil with a high frying temperature (e.g. sunflower, groundnut)
  1. This is a very complex recipe so I hope you’re sitting carefully, throw the garlic and spring onion and oil into a smoking hot wok with a small amount of the oil. Keep this moving so that it does not brown.
  2. Add the vegetables to the wok and cook for 2 – 3 minutes until softened. I add a couple of teaspoons of water at this stage because the oil has likely all been absorbed by the garlic and spring onion, the water evaporates and leaves the vegetables dry but it helps steam them so that you’re not using too much oil.
  3. Throw in the king prawns and keep moving the contents of the pan so that they don’t catch.
  4. Add the noodles to a bowl of boiled water and cover for 2 – 3 minutes until soft.
  5. To the saucepan of prawns and vegetables, add 3 tablespoons of coconut milk, a handful of chopped coriander and some very finely chopped red chilli.
  6. Stir for a couple of minutes until combined and silky.
  7. Remove the noodles from the water, add and stir together (this is easiest with a pair of chopsticks)

See below for a snapshot:

It was so delicious and in my new mean spirited fashion I made plenty for lunch today! See below:

2 thoughts on “Skinflint Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

