Cheapskate Chicken and Green Apple Salad

In our offices, we have such a thing as Fruity Wednesday, the clue is very much in the name but on Wednesdays, large bowls of fruit are distributed around the office and it really perks up that midweek slump. It’s also very useful if you want to use one apple for a recipe.

Yesterday, I stole an apple from the fruit bowl in work. It is a communal fruit bowl and I’m sure nobody held it against me but at the same time, you know you’re on the breadline when you resort to stealing fruit!

The reason I stole an apple is because I had seen this salad on the great blog: http://laurenzietsman.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/green-apple-chicken-salad-sandwiches/

and it looked delicious and even better included things I had in my fridge and store cupboard even down to the leftover chicken!

I messed around with it a little, partly because a large jar of mayonnaise had disappeared from the fridge but also because I like to put my own little stamp on it.

It’s a really nice salad and I imagine would be delicious in a sandwich. The crisp green apple lends the salad a great bite and I was exceptionally dubious about the inclusion of barbecue sauce but A Full Measure of Happiness’ Lauren is right, it really works. I suppose this is a little like a Waldorf salad but without the celery because I can’t abide celery unless it’s cooked. I included some chopped parsley and some broken up walnuts which worked well and in the absence of mayonnaise used Caesar dressing and lots of lemon juice.

Chicken and Green Apple Salad

  • large handful of cold roast chicken, shredded
  • a green apple (not necessarily appropriated from work on a Fruity Wednesday)
  • 2 tbsp of caesar dressing
  • lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped parsley
  • chopped walnuts
  • BBQ sauce, I used HP

Take the shredded chicken, add a squeeze of bbq sauce and stir together to coat. Cube a green apple and add to the chicken mixture. Bind the two with the caesar dressing and add the lemon juice, salt and pepper, chopped parsley and walnuts to taste. And that’s it, really!

I had mine for lunch today with a fresh baguette and it was delicious and also felt quite healthy, which it wasn’t by any means but the apple sort of feels like an act of virtue!

Leave a Reply

