Chin Up Roast Chicken

The other evening when I was feeling desperately sad, I feel like that quite often at the moment as life is changing faster than I can keep up with, I found myself in the evil superstore around the corner. I had offered to cook supper for Lee and I but I couldn’t decide what to cook and I just about gave up by the cake section in tears.

Eventually, I had sharp words with myself and told myself that I would feel better if I actually took the time or effort to make supper. In the evil superstore around the corner, they had three chickens for a whole 10 British pound coins. Now that is a bargain. And they weren’t horrible chickens either. They had little red tractors on them which is a good thing because it means they were grown/raised in Britain and on a nice farm and they were very fresh so I purchased one and was then told more people were joining us so I purchased all three.

I don’t have a complex recipe for roast chicken but each time I look at these photos, I get an overwhelming urge to write about them because the skin looks so crispy and tasty. I do, however, require a large amount of soft, good, salty butter, really good rock salt, lots of black pepper, fresh thyme and a lemon.

I also need a scorching hot oven. And a large roasting dish in this case. I would be disappointed without roast potatoes but I didn’t have any old potatoes so we had roasted new potatoes.

And lots of salad and hollandaise and bread.

And most importantly wine.

And then we danced and sang to Whitney Houston and suddenly everything didn’t seem so terrible!

Els’ Roast Chicken

  • a chicken
  • large pack of butter, salted, soft
  • handful of fresh thyme (twigs and all)
  • a lemon (cut in half)
  • salt and pepper
  • an onion (cut in half)
  1. Take a chicken. Shove half an onion inside it. Then shove half a lemon inside it. Then a large knob of butter
  2. Take a piece of the butter packaging and use it to smear butter all over the chicken skin.
  3. Cover in lots of salt and pepper.
  4. Sprinkle over thyme and shove a bit inside the chicken too.
  5. Squeeze over the other half of the lemon and throw in to the tray with the other half of the onion.
  6. Put in a scaldingly hot oven e.g. 200 degrees for about 30 minutes.
  7. Lower the oven to 180 degrees and remove the chicken. Douse in the schmaltzy, buttery, oniony juices in the pan and pop back in the oven.
  8. Continue to remove, douse and pop back in for about 40 minutes and/or until the juices run clear.
  9. Leave to stand for about 10 minutes so that it relaxes into juiciness. Don’t cover though or you’ll lose your crispy skin.
  10. Ta-da!

not the prettiest beasts!

the essentials!

smeared chickens!

Dig in!

 

One thought on “Chin Up Roast Chicken

Leave a Reply

