Seriously Good Plum Brandy

I am now on a roll with my fruit-steeped boozes and I have a heap of ideas up my sleeve for Christmas and the New Year. I have some ideas for gin and vodka that are pretty exciting but fruit like plums needs something softer than gin or vodka and for that reason, plums and brandy are incredibly well suited.

I think that if you’re going to make something like plum brandy, then you should use the best alcohol that you can. No Smartprice brandy for me, I managed to find a bottle of Courvoisier in the cupboard that looks like it might have been around when Napoleon was. I don’t think you need to use such good brandy, I’m sure that supermarket’s own brand Spanish brandy would work perfectly but if you are going to use ‘basic brandy’, I would recommend using brown sugar or muscavado sugar for added richness. My plum brandy needs absolutely no added richness as it’s very thick and syrupy but I do think that’s a combination of very ripe plums that had been sitting around softening for a couple of days and the wonderful brandy.

One sniff can make you quite silly

 Plum Brandy

you will need a large kilner jar or bottle, or perhaps ask a sweetshop for a large jar

  • 1l of brandy
  • 500g of very ripe plums, stoned and halved
  • 300g caster sugar
  1. Add the halved and stoned plums to the jar
  2. Cover the plums with the sugar and shake
  3. Add the brandy to the bottle and seal and shake.
  4. Shake once a day for a week.
  5. After a week, leave in a cool, dark, place and shake weekly for 8 weeks.
  6. After 8 weeks, sieve the contents and bottle.
  7. Eat the plums with ice cream and leave the brandy to mature for a couple more months.

Halved and Stoned

 

Cover the fruit with sugar

 

Add the brandy..

 

After a week

Absolutely delicious and really very good for you when you consider that it’s a good source of vitamins.

4 thoughts on “Seriously Good Plum Brandy

Leave a Reply

