Autumn Tomato Chutney

Some people are real sandwich people, they get a sort of dreamy look in their eyes when you mention sandwiches or start competing about how much they love sandwiches. I once worked with two girls who, when sandwiches were inadvertently mentioned one day, listed off about 40 sandwiches that they couldn’t live without, I’ve never forgotten that conversation and find myself wondering if I like sandwiches enough, I can’t list 40!

I’m a fan of sandwiches but they need to have an integral part to get my vote and that part is chutney. Whether it’s a ham, cheese, cold roast chicken, cold roast pork or pate sandwich, I need to have a smear of chutney and homemade is so much better.

On my list of chutneys to make is picallili which suits this time of year with it’s wonderful mustard yellow colour and the great vegetables needed. I also like fruit chutneys and made lots of spiced plum chutney and also Nigella’s brilliant beetroot and ginger chutney. A friend bought me a huge bag of tomatoes from his garden the other day and aside from gazing at their lovely colours, I decided that a chutney would be a great use for them, although I did eat quite a lot of them first with cheese!

lovely colours

This is a great chutney, it’s not too sweet and also doesn’t need to be hidden away in a cupboard for a month to mature although maturing it will always make it taste lovely. It works brilliantly with cheese and with cold meats and I am hoping to make a pork pie this weekend and can imagine it would be lovely with that. It also involves the kind of ingredients you have in the cupboard, which helps! The original recipe called for green peppers and some different spices but I changed them to what I had and also because I don’t like green peppers but also, the red and yellow of the peppers looks lovely in the jar.

Autumn Tomato Chutney

makes about 6 jars

  • 1kg ripe tomatoes , peeled and chopped
  • 750g cooking apples , peeled, cored and chopped
  • 375g light muscovado sugar
  • 250g onions , chopped
  • 250g raisins
  • 1 small yellow pepper , deseeded and chopped
  • 1 small red pepper , deseeded and chopped
  • 2 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 350ml cider vinegar
  1. Now this is the kind of cooking I enjoy, add everything to a large pan and simmer over a medium heat for about an hour or until you can draw a wooden spoon through the bottom of the pan and it leaves a clean mark that doesn’t refill instantly.
  2. Spoon into sterilised jars and seal. (sterilisation info available from here)

chop the tomatoes

all in the pan

softened

in the jar

Lovely with the scones from the other evening or with the baked camembert from the weekend or perhaps, with the pork pie I am intending to make!

 

Leave a Reply

