Pea and Mint Soup

I’ve heard it was raining in Liverpool and Dublin over the weekend but it seems to be scorching, unabated, in Oxfordshire. With this kind of weather, I’m finding myself pushing aside my beloved knitwear, layering and scarves and having to unearth summery clothes, most of which I’ve left up north typically! Yesterday, would have been a beautiful day to visit the seaside and it was OCTOBER! Mum was in the garden and I was sunbathing at my desk in front of my open bedroom window.

With this in mind, I’ve been feeling like lighter, summery food again and pea and mint soup is a great cross-seasonal lunch. Soup’s filling enough to suit autumn but pea and mint give it the lightness of a summer’s day. I should think you could serve this hot or chilled, I would like chilled on a day like today with some cubed cucumber and a dollop of creme fraiche in the centre. Similarly, it’d be nice hot with a good chunk of sourdough bread.

I like peas, they’re rather the unsung hero of the vegetable world. Rather like the Danni Minogue of the vegetable X Factor, quietly, unassumedly getting it right. I suppose that would make Cheryl Cole, something jolly ‘fashionable’ like a micro shoot or something. An interesting fact that the peapod itself is a fruit and the pea itself is a vegetable. In 2005, somebody with rather a lot of time did a survey and it transpired that peas are Britain’s 7th favourite vegetable. I also have a lot of love for mint, mostly in a good Pimm’s on a summer’s day but the fragrance is so refreshing and a little goes such a long way.

summer in a bowl

Pea and Mint Soup

makes enough for about 5 bowls, freeze any extra

  • a bag of peas
  • a handful of mint leaves
  • a potato
  • an onion, white
  • 75g butter
  • 3 tbsp double cream
  • a vegetable stock cube or bouillon – the best quality you can afford
  • salt and pepper
  1. Soften the onion in a pan with the butter, when translucent, add the potato and cook for five minutes.
  2. Add the stock and three pints of boiling water and bring to a simmer.
  3. When the potato is cooked and soft, add the bag of peas and the mint. Remove from the heat.
  4. Either blitz in a magimix or using a mouli.
  5. Stir through the cream and season to taste.
Leave a Reply

