Braised Pork, Leek, Mushroom and Cider Pie

I started the last post saying that I heard there was rain in Liverpool and now I’m in Liverpool and it is definitely raining. Absolutely pouring down, in fact. It has turned into wintry weather very quickly and there are considerable arguments for woolly scarves and log fires.

You couldn’t help but feel warm with a good chunk of this lovely pie. It’s a real wet and windy day pie and I think it might be my favourite pie of all time which is saying something because I excel at pie. I got the recipe from a little book that was published this summer containing some recipes by Jamie Oliver and other chefs and it’s not only extremely tasty but also very easy to make.

I would argue the merits of buying really good shoulder of pork and a decent cider. I used Waitrose’s Own Vintage Cider and it was delicious, a completely unexpected surprise. It had quite a honeyed flavour and without that dry bitterness that some cider has. I also used all butter puff pastry because I think you get a more golden crust with it and portobellini mushrooms because there weren’t any chestnut ones! I really recommend making this pie for supper on a cold day with a huge pile of mash and maybe some runner beans or peas. That’s all I’d want with it. And probably a large glass of cider!

Dig in!

pretty pie

 

Braised Pork, Leek, Mushroom and Cider Pie

serves about 6

  • 1kg cubed pork shoulder
  • 300g leeks, chopped
  • 300g portobellini mushrooms
  • 10g garlic puree
  • 50g tomato puree
  • 1l of cider
  • 3 tsp chicken stock
  • handful of tarragon leaves
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • pack of puff pastry
  • beaten egg to glaze
  1. Preheat the oven to 160C.
  2. Take a large casserole dish that can go in the oven and heat olive oil on a medium heat. Add the pork and fry until browned on each side.
  3. Add the mushrooms and leeks and cook until softened.
  4. Stir in the tomato and garlic puree.
  5. Pour the cider over the meat etc and add the chicken stock. Simmer on the hob for 10 minutes and then add the tarragon leaves and mustard.
  6. Place a lid on the dish and put in the oven for 2 hours or until the pork falls to pieces if pulled with a fork.
  7. Remove from the oven and place in a pie dish and leave to cool if possible.
  8. Cover with puff pastry and glaze the pastry with the beaten egg.
  9. Cook at 180C for 30 minutes

 

adding the tarragon

pie!

I could eat a bucket of this!

 

3 thoughts on “Braised Pork, Leek, Mushroom and Cider Pie

  1. Liv B says:

    I’ve been inspired of late (it’s Winter here) to make a pie for dinner. Unfortunately, I don’t want a quick mix one, I like the slow roast version. Where the meat is soft and tender before it goes into the pie. I’ve bought the pork, I’ve bought the leek but the time & recipe had been escaping me. Until now. We’ve planned to make pie Tuesday night, so tomorrow – this starts and I cannot wait! Thanks for the recipe!

      • Liv B says:

        Thanks! I made the filling last night & we’re making the pie up tonight. I put it in the oven with a lid on so it’s keep a lot of the liquid, did you reduce this, drain it off, something else? I’m thinking I’ll use cornflour to thicken it before I bake it as pie. I can’t wait to eat it all up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

