Stick a Fork in Me, I’m Done… Sausage and Apple Casserole

I think it was the Knorr bear who said “Stick a fork in me, I’m done” but I’ve always loved that expression! We used to repeat it like parrots when I lived in my lovely big student house in Allerton, Liverpool. We were a scream! Anyway, I have reached the end of my essay and I have submitted it and so I am back in the world of the living and not crying over conclusions, I find it hard to conclude when I’m not sure what I’m concluding! I think we’ve all been there at least once!

Anyway, so off flies my essay about Northern Lights, great book – read it if you haven’t – and here I am with a lovely Sausage and Apple casserole for days just like today. I’m sitting at my desk and I can hear the rain coming down and that’s pretty rubbish. It’s the kind of day to light a fire and curl up with a book! Little Women is my next set text so I think that’s calling.

We had this for supper last week with nothing more convoluted than mashed potato, I had a desire to cook something really autumnal and with some delicious Cumberland sausages in the freezer and nothing more taxing to buy than apples and cider, this seemed like a good idea. It’s not particularly complicated and doesn’t take long at all but if you wanted to add creme fraiche at the end, that would make it possibly even more delicious. Or you could add chicken stock so that it had a lot of gravy, depends on how you like your casserole. I’m a fan of the sticky, reduced kind.

It was browner and stickier in real life but the lightbulb situation in my kitchen is going from bad to worse and so it’s come out not looking so toasty or sticky!

doesn't really do it justice!

Sausage and Apple Casserole

feeds 3-4

  • cumberland sausages, about 400g of, about 10 sausages, I cut mine into slanty pieces, it looked pretty in the pot!
  • braeburn (because that’s what they had in the shop, go wild!) apples, cut into thick slices, about 3 apples worth
  • mustard (I used 2 tsp of wholegrain and 1 tsp of colman’s powder)#
  • cider (I used magners because that’s what they had in the shop that wasn’t white lightning or frosty jacks!)
  • honey, a tsp of
  • 2 onions, sliced into thick slices
  • garlic, one crushed clove
  • half a cup of chicken stock
  • handful of chopped parsley
  1. In a nice big pan, take the sausages and fry these off in a little olive oil, add the onions and the garlic and cook until soft and browned.
  2. Stir through the mustard and half of the parsley and cook for a little longer. Add the honey and stir.
  3. Heat the oven to about 170 and adding your stock and cider, scrape about on the bottom so that lovely stick sausage residue gets lifted by the stock, so that it sits beneath the sausages (this browns the tops) and then simmer on the hob until the cider is reduced by half.
  4. Then pop in the oven for about 15 minutes.
  5. Add the apple slices, cover with lid or foil, and return to the oven for 5 minutes.
  6. Add the rest of the parsley and serve on mash!

 

Leave a Reply

