My Mum’s Chocolate Pots

Sometimes you realise that your very favourite recipes are the ones you’ve always known. Since I was very small, my mother makes chocolate pots for pudding at dinner parties. She serves them in the pale blue coffee cups that sit at the bottom of the cupboard, for what has always seemed like this exact purpose. The chocolate pot is an interesting little recipe, not quite mousse, not cake or tart, but utterly beguiling, simple and a total luxury.

We had friends to stay this weekend and, in my opinion, this recipe was the standout moment of the weekend. I think I have finally learned that I can’t drink wine and cook 3 course meals at the same time. It’s time for me to say ‘I shan’t have a glass of wine until we’re sat at the table eating’ or ‘sod all 3 courses, let’s ring the Chinese!’ as I pour wine down my throat. But this, which I had prepared earlier in the day pre-wine, was absolutely delicious and so utterly simple. I can attest to this because my mother dictated it to me on the phone and I fit it all on one post-it with a thick black marker. I think it went ‘whisk whites, melt choc, whisk yolk, booze, choc, fold. fridge’.

I used a splash of spiced rum, you couldn’t really taste it but I was afraid to add too much because the people on Come Dine With Me often slip with the bottle and then get very low marks from people complaining about the amount of alcohol. We did decide though that basing life decisions on Come Dine With Me probably wasn’t the wisest.. I think my mum probably uses brandy or rum, something from the back of the cupboard.

These chocolate pots require nothing more fancy than a teaspoon and a layer of cream to eat them through. They’re incredibly rich and the texture is quite thick so the cream is actually super important. I can’t imagine a world where cream isn’t super important, to be honest. This is why cows were invented.

pots

Chocolate pots

makes 4 in fairly large ramekins, probably 6-8 in espresso cups

  • 250g dark chocolate, broken
  • 4 eggs, separated into whites and yolks
  • a splash of something boozy, I used Morgan’s spiced
  • 4 ramekins, espresso cups or receptacles (not entirely an ingredient but important to have ready)
  1. Whisk the egg whites in a large bowl, incorporating plenty of air, until they form stiff peaks. An electric whisk or a standalone mixer would be your best friend here.
  2. In a separate bowl, melt the chocolate. I did mine in a microwave for about 2 minutes. I made the mistake of adding the booze post-melt. Mum told me off for this, apparently it’s obvious you should add it before you melt the chocolate… Add it where you feel happiest. If you do add it to the molten chocolate, it makes an interesting hard shell but this disappeared when I whisked in the yolks.
  3. Whisk in the yolks.
  4. Fold the egg whites into the yolky chocolate mixture. Place in ramekins and chill in the fridge.
  5. Avoid giving to the very young or very old as it contains raw egg.

folding

folded

pots2

2 thoughts on “My Mum’s Chocolate Pots

Leave a Reply

