A 15 Minute Caesar Salad of sorts

 

 

I put my hands up, my name is Eleanor and I have a real addiction to beauty and fashion blogs. I think it’s partly because they’re all so pretty and perky, the average age appears to be about 24, and so when they say this ridiculously expensive face cream, that you can only buy in London for about 5 minutes before it sells out, has worked wonders on their bright young faces, then I have to have it. I convince myself that what could be cured by drinking a little bit more water, reading slightly less late into the night and going to bed a little earlier will all be fixed with a pot of elixir or serum or balm. Who isn’t going to want to buy something called elixir!? I wouldn’t recommend it though, I have hundreds of half used pots at home you can have.

What’s this got to do with a Jamie Oliver 15 minute Chicken Caesar Salad? You ask. Well, I was reminded of this recipe by the beauty blogger, Essie-button’s site, where she and her boyfriend Aslan cook this on video. What an amazing name?! We’re working on the whole v-logging (that means recording this on a video, Mum) thing but the first attempts were met with snorting and derision and being firmly told that I should brush my hair first so while we work on finding a camera that doesn’t colour me elephant grey and talking without losing track of what I’m saying and finding a spot in the kitchen that doesn’t reveal the ugliest side of my fridge, you’ll have to make do with wordy blogging. Which is probably better because I’m not sure my Mum could cope with the technology! I have made this a few times and it changes every time, below I shall give you the most recent recipe.

This is a great recipe and it’s all thanks to Jamie Oliver. I really need to start cooking things by other people, this blog may as well be sponsored by Jamie Oliver these days. I think it’s beauty lies in the fact that it’s incredibly simple, he thinks it should only take 15 minutes and that you can make do with what’s in your fridge as long as you have some kind of chicken, lettuce, bacon, bread and parmesan, lemon, sour cream type things. I like to make sure I always have parmesan, lemon, sour cream type things. They make suppers much easier when you have nothing in and you’re bored of pasta. The dressing is a bit of a wild old affair, it’s bright green for a start. I wouldn’t recommend tasting it in progress but waiting till it’s on the salad, it tastes weird on its own but delicious as soon as it hits lettuce or hot bacon. I would put a theory out there that pretty much anything tastes better with bacon though.

I know I’m always going on about my little magimix but it’s super helpful here, or a blender.

caesar salad

Jamie’s 15 Minute-Ish Salad

plenty for 2

  • a romaine lettuce, ripped
  • a bag of rocket
  • half a cucumber, sliced (for crunch)
  • half a baguette (I used slightly stale onion bread from Asda)
  • 2 chicken breasts, sliced
  • 4 slices of smoked bacon, chopped
  • olive oil
  • 100ml soured cream
  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise
  • handful of basil leaves
  • inch of parmesan
  • tsp of english mustard
  • 3 anchovies (I can’t stand anchovies but you wouldn’t know they were there)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • salt and pepper
  1. Heat the oven to 180C. Slice/break the bread into crouton sized chunks, throw in a roasting tin with olive oil and plenty of salt and pepper. Shake the tin to make sure the bread is evenly coated and bake in the oven for about 15 minutes, until crispy and golden.
  2. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan and add olive oil. Fry your bacon and chicken until both are bronzed and cooked through. I think about 10 minutes, should suffice.
  3. While this is going on, add the basil, garlic and parmesan to your blender. Whizz. Add the sour cream, the english mustard, the anchovies and some salt and pepper. Whizz again. This will be bright green. At this point, I added the mayonnaise to thicken the dressing slightly and to soften the tang of the sour cream. Add as much as you see fit.
  4. By this point, your chicken, bacon and croutons should be nearing completion. Throw all the components of your salad in a big bowl, or on a large platter, scatter over the chicken, bacon and croutons and pour over the dressing. Shave some parmesan chunks over the top and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

See below for the bright green of the dressing:

IMG_1812

IMG_1813

Leave a Reply

