Cake Heaven

Do I have the bobbydazzling, show-stopping, friend-making cake for you?

This cake bought all the boys to the yard, to copy the fine song writing skills of Kelis. As I whipped the cream and threw over the fruit (and covered the floor in strawberries) people materialised from all corners of the house and garden to coo and murmur appreciatively. I was like a proud parent twirling my cake for all to see. This cake will make you friends, it might even find you a husband. It didn’t find me one on this occasion but I can see it happening. True story.

This weekend, I had a blast. Too often on Bank Holiday weekends, I mope about the house thinking I should really do things but then getting guilt trips from cupboards and drawers that need time and effort spent on organising them. Being me, I then skulk and float about procrastinating and doing about anything to avoid such things. I did do this on Saturday, but having got the bug out of my system, I had two beautiful sunny days with barbecues and park picnics to round off the long weekend. I shall come back to the picnic but on Sunday, I took a trip out to the suburbs with a bag for life filled with a huge bowl of salad and the component parts of this cake. It was a lovely day and my friend, Hannah, threw a great lunch for heaps of friends.

The main attraction, beyond the chorizo and mozzarella burgers topped with guacamole, was Hannah’s 3 week old puppy, Peggy, who is just about the cutest thing in the whole of the world ever…

See… CUTE.

peggypup

I had sent Hannah a message earlier in the week asking if I could come over and see the new puppy so when she replied saying ‘yes and come to my bbq’, I thought it would be only right to bring a good pudding. I’m not sure if any of us needed it having stuffed our faces with Dean’s amazing sweet potato mash and with Hannah’s homemade burgers and sticky chicken wings but it was met with appreciation when I rolled it out. This is the kind of cake that looks pretty damn amazing and is actually horribly easy. That’s the best kind of cake. I made this on Sunday morning, in the scorching heat, with kitchen doors flung open and let it cool in its tins to take with me to piece together. I had visions of an erratic taxi driver and sliding whipped cream at traffic lights, I think it was for the best.

cakepeggy

Cake Heaven

we fed 15 with this one cake

  • 100g softened butter
  • 350g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 225g plain flour
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 250ml buttermilk
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 x 20cm tins, greased, lined
  1. Preheat the oven to 180C. Put softened butter and sugar into large bowl and beat together till light and fluffy.
  2. Add eggs one at a time and beat well.
  3. Sieve flour, cocoa, baking powder and bicarb of soda into the butter & sugar mix and then pour into the buttermilk and add vanilla essence stirring well to create smooth dough.
  4. Divide between cake tins and bake for 19-25 minutes until just set in centre.
  5. Allow to sit in the tin for 5 minutes and then onto turn out a wire rack.

I then sandwiched these together with whipped cream and summery fruits and had I had time, I would have made a chocolate ganache to drizzle over the top…

It was delicious. Almost as wonderful as meeting Peggy.

 

3 thoughts on “Cake Heaven

Leave a Reply

