Ottolenghi Baked Red Onions and Walnut Salsa

IMG_1650

Since I came back from Cornwall, we’ve been mostly eating asparagus and bread or cheese and bread. Not only are the evenings slightly warmer but I think the lighter evenings fool you into thinking it’s earlier than it is and suddenly it’s 9pm and you’re wheeling out the cheese and chutney again. This is a light evening/warmer night kind of salad. I think, as with all things Ottolenghi, I found it on the Guardian website. If you haven’t purchased one of his books yet, I really urge you to have a perusal through the list on the website because there are so many recipes on there and a great selection with each post. I’ve printed so many of them out I shall probably never get to make them all but we had this with roast chicken one night and it was lovely.

In some ways, this salad is quite similar to the one I make with chickpeas, red onion and feta. You could think of them as second cousins. This is quite tart, where the other recipe is quite sweet. It’s also beautifully coloured with the rich purples, bright reds, clean whites and refreshing greens.

Apologies that the little ramble prior to the recipe is quite short at the moment. I came back from holiday at the weekend but mentally, I think I may still be sitting on a beach in Cornwall considering my next scallop. I’m sure a couple of days back in work (where it already feels like I need another holiday) and the sinking reality of a couple of domestic chores and utility bills and I’ll be back in the zone!

Ottolenghi  Baked Red Onions and Walnut Salsa

  • 4 medium red onions
  • 1½ tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 20g rocket
  • 15g small parsley leaves, picked
  • 60g feta, broken into 2cm chunks

    For the salsa………:

  • 65g walnuts, finely chopped
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and crushed
  • 3 tbsp red-wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  1. Word to the wise, Ottolenghi uses goats cheese and I think that might be a bit nicer but I didn’t have any. Ottolenghi’s wiser though so maybe follow him.
  2. Heat the oven to 200C. Peel the onions and cut each onion widthways into three slices about 2cm thick, and place on a baking tray. Brush with olive oil, sprinkle over a quarter-teaspoon of salt and some pepper, and roast for 20 minutes, until cooked and golden-brown on top. If they haven’t taken on much colour, pop them under the grill for a few minutes. Set aside to cool slightly.
  3. While the onions are cooking, put all the ingredients for the salsa in a small bowl, add a quarter-teaspoon of salt, stir and set aside. I did this in a jam jar so I could smash it about a lot.
  4. To serve, put the rocket and parsley in a large bowl. Add the warm onions, the cheese and half the salsa, and toss gently – you don’t want the onions to fall apart. Divide between four shallow bowls or plates and spoon over the remaining salsa.

IMG_1610

IMG_1611

IMG_1612

Leave a Reply

