Quick Blueberry and Lemon Muffins

I’ve been a bit absent recently, between covering extra shifts at work and a trip to the Isle of Wight festival, I’ve barely had time to read my emails. This last weekend I had the first weekend in months where I didn’t have any plans or had to go anywhere so I spent hours catching up with work (all varieties!) and with 8 loads of washing! Between the laundry and the note-taking, I thought I would whip up a super quick batch of muffins with some discounted blueberries I found in the shops.

This isn’t a wow-er of a recipe. It isn’t going to make the softest, fluffiest muffins you’ve ever found but it’s super quick and it’s quite store-cupboard friendly. Carless, I always find myself groaning when a recipe calls for buttermilk or ground almonds or anything more complicated than the corner shop can manage! I would recommend eating these warm, they were nice cooler but amazing warm. I would call this a breakfast muffin, ideal for whipping up a quick batch to complement a sunday brunch or to satisfy a sweet craving and delicious with a giant cup of tea or mug of coffee. The batter looks a bit odd, I think that’s the vegetable oil, trust it, it turns out ok. I had to add a bit more liquid, I’m not sure if that was because of the size of my egg. Trust yourself, if it looks a bit gloopy, add some more milk. I also always add lemon to a blueberry muffin, it’s a compulsion and I think it adds a lot. It seems to bring out the flavour of blueberry but if you don’t like lemon, you could always use vanilla.

When I have finally finished unpacking tents and sorting through baby wipes and sunglasses, I shall update some more of my recent adventures but in the mean time, make a batch of muffins and enjoy.

muffin

Quick Blueberry and Lemon Muffins

makes 12

  • 375 g self-raising flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 200 g caster sugar
  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 125 ml milk
  • 1 tsp lemon extract
  • the zest of one lemon
  • 300 g blueberries, fresh or frozen
  • granulated sugar, for sprinkling
  1. Preheat oven to 180C and line a muffin tin with muffin cases.
  2. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, lemon zest and caster sugar until mixed.
  3. In a separate bowl or jug, whisk the oil, egg, milk and lemon extract. Gently add this to the flour mixture until just combined.
  4. At this point, stir in the blueberries and mix until well combined.
  5. Spoon the mixture into the muffin tin and bake in the middle of the oven for 20-30 mins.
  6. Mine took about 25 minutes but start checking at 20.

Even the cat was tempted:

cat and muffin

Leave a Reply

