“Green Toast” – Avocado on Toast

I think there may be a common theme to this week’s posts, easy and involving bright colours. I have another super simple recipe for you here, so simple it’s barely a recipe but perfect for hot, summer days and airless, summer nights. I like to eat this for brunch, sometimes I mix it up with a bit of chilli sauce or similar but then you’re stepping on guacamole territory, although frankly I think there’s nothing better than the idea of guacamole on toast.

Avocados and I haven’t always been friends. For years, I couldn’t understand the appeal of the weird soapy green thing that everyone ate topped with prawn cocktail and then it clicked and now I would sell my family members for an avocado. When I was in Australia, I ate heaps of avocado, mostly on eggs Benedict but quite often like this and it was love at first bite. My mum has the most amazing green avocado dishes, I think they must be from the 60s, 70s, very Abigail’s party. In one of the photos below, I have heaped it with the mushed avocado because I love the dishes so much I thought they deserved to appear on this blog.

This is ludicrously simple so please forgive me the recipe but again it’s the sort of thing that may just appeal to your jaded senses at the end of a long day. I also appreciate I’ve now given you two something on toast recipes in a row but it’s hot and we are all fans of bread. Eat this with an achingly long gin and tonic and sit in the garden and celebrate that summer has arrived and it’ll probably be gone by next week.

avocado on toast

“Green Toast” – Avocado on Toast

  • 2 slices of bread, you want something brown and robust, nothing flimsy like Mighty White
  • half an avocado
  • half a lime
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  1. Toast your two slices of bread and drizzle with olive oil.
  2. In a separate bowl, mush the avocado, salt and pepper and lime juice with the back of a fork. Taste and add lime and salt and pepper accordingly. You might want to use a whole lime’s worth of juice.
  3. Smush into your toast and serve.

avocado lime avocado mush

 

Leave a Reply

